cupcake supremacy

when cupcakes rule the world…

month of may May 25, 2011

Filed under: blahblahblah,daily life — cupcakesupremacy @ 10:54 am

It’s become clear over the two years since I’ve started this blog that I’m not a good blogger. Back in the days of livejournal, I was an EXCELLENT blogger. I would post 2-3 times a day. Which maybe makes me a horrible blogger, but whatever.

I’m not going to pretend I’m going to try harder, because I’m not, so I’ll just pop in from time to time when I feel like it.

Life is good. Keith is good. Daisy is the most spoiled dog on the planet, so she is obviously good.

I’m enjoying the break from school (one A, one B) and so far have not had any pangs of wanting to go back. (As a kid I was always completely over summer after a month, but I think I might cry when I have to go back now.)

I was bored last week and decided I wanted to read something more substantial than ask.metafilter.com and had remembered someone on twitter mentioning The Hunger Games books. I had no clue what they were about, but I started to read the first one and when I choked up about 10 pages in, I knew I was hooked. I read all three books in just as many days and then felt the usual post-good-book depression.

So I grabbed Bossypants and read that. I never really has an opinion one way or another on Tina Fey until someone online quoted an excerpt from her book about being a working mother. It was funny and clever and slightly dark and it was then that I knew I liked her. Her book was a fluff book, I think I read it in one evening, but it was very entertaining.

And then I had no idea what else to read so I browsed the NYT best-seller list and ended up finishing Water for Elephants last night. I never knew I’d be so into a story about the circus, but it was pretty good! And I dreamt of elephants last night. Always a plus.

So now I’m looking for more books to read. I like almost any fiction minus courtroom dramas. I really like trilogies or series (so I can postpone the post-good-book depression). So any recommendations, throw ’em my way. It’s rare that I can’t get into a book. (Except Infinite Jest and I tried. Really, I did.)

If I get no recs, I’m just going to work my way through Rory Gilmore’s book list. And that’s okay with me.

 

Leave a Reply

