cupcake supremacy

when cupcakes rule the world…

The most amazing surprise of my life and how I was so oblivious I almost missed it… April 15, 2010

Filed under: daily life,katrina tv — cupcakesupremacy @ 2:37 pm

So Keith and I are in New York again. We came up this time to see Keith Malley (Keith and the Girl) do his annual birthday stand-up show. I covered KATG once before so go back and read that post or just go to their site and check ’em out.

So we drove up to New Jersey last night and took the train into the city this morning. After stopping to buy some mascara (since mine was left in Monroeville), we headed to our hotel to check in. They oddly didn’t have any rooms for early check-in so we left our bags and went to find lunch.

On the ride up I was looking through papers Keith had printed out and there were papers for The High Line. It is an old set of train tracks above the city that has been repurposed into a park. While this is something I’d love to see, I didn’t think it was up Keith’s alley so I asked about it. He said he thought I’d like it and that was that. So after lunch we decided to walk over. After a quick stop at the Apple store, we finally get to one of the entrances and ride this fancy glass elevator up.

We start to walk and as we approach a bench I think “hey that guy looks kind of familiar…” just as Ben Lerman greets Keith.

I thought he had just noticed Keith’s KATG shirt and decided to say hello based on that. Ben introduces us to Jessica Delfino and now I’m super excited.

Sidenote: Ben and Jessica are regular guests on Keith and the Girl. Ben is my favorite guest and Jessica is up there too. They are both hilarious, play ukuleles and just seem like the nicest people ever.

When Ben asked if we wanted to have a seat, I about lost my mind thinking this was the greatest thing ever. When he motioned to a few cases on the ground and asked if we’d like to hear a few songs, I about died of happiness. At the same time, I felt a little awkward crashing their park hanging, but definitely didn’t want to pass up a chance for a free show.

Ben played a few songs, and not a person walked past that didn’t laugh. I was thinking we were the luckiest people in New York City to randomly come across them like this. The Jessica picked up her ukulele and played a few songs for us. At some point, Ben mentioned offhandedly that Keith had arranged this all but I just laughed it off.

It wasn’t until Ben said “Keith asked us to play this song for you, so I hope you like it,” that I started to get a little confused. But it wasn’t until he and Jessica started to sing Ingrid Michaelson’s “You and I” that I got REALLY confused.

I was too busy being blown away by their rendition to really think about it though. (I wish I would have recorded it, it was so amazing.)

After they finished we chatted a little more and took a picture together, hugged!, and went on our separate ways. It was only at this time that I turned to Keith and said “You PLANNED THIS?!”

And he had. A month or so ago he had emailed Ben trying to set it up. Ben hosts a version of The Match Game and would be doing it the Friday we’d be up here. Except Keith had already bought Yankee tickets so I was kind of bummed. Since he knows Ben is my favorite guest, he planned it all out, very sneakily. He had Ben in his phone as some Josh kid (who he got a text from in the Apple store!, but I only saw the name and not the message, but good thing Keith is smart because phew that would have ruined it.)

Ben asked if there was any song Keith wanted him to learn and he knows I love “You and I”, so he suggested it and Ben recruited Jessica to help. (bonus!)

It also made sense why Keith was a little cranky this morning, he was running on a schedule I had no idea existed and Ben had suggested The High Line.

I was completely blown away hearing all of this and had to find a bench so I could sit and cry.

Our anniversary is next week and there is absolutely no way I can even come close to topping that.

Ben and Jessica, you probably won’t see this but you are two of the kindest and most hilarious people I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting, thank you for making that happen.

Keith and Chemda, I know you will never read this, but thank you for introducing our ears to Ben and Jessica, for this never would have happened without you.

Keith, you are the most amazing person I have ever met, that was the most amazing surprise of my life and I love you the most.

I am the luckiest broad in the world.

 

3 Responses to “The most amazing surprise of my life and how I was so oblivious I almost missed it…”

  1. Magdelyn Says:

    Like, like, like! this is so adorable, it made my heart melt.

    You guys are seriously so adorable together 🙂

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by katrina. katrina said: [blogged] The most amazing surprise of my life and how I was so oblivious I almost missed it… http://bit.ly/chZmrJ […]

  3. Sarah Says:

    I’m crying too! Oh my gosh, that is too awesome. Yeah Keith! He is a sneaky, lovely man! That’s so wonderful for you….can’t wait to see what he has planned for your proposal!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

